Executive Committee

Executive Committee

Our Executive Committee is responsible for managing and supervising the affairs of the Association, and for determining and directing policy in between Annual Conferences.

The President chairs all meetings of the Executive Committee and of Annual Conference. The Treasurer presents financial statements to the Executive, and the annual report and balance sheet to Conference.

Both the President and Treasurer are lay members, elected by secret ballot of the whole membership every two years.

There are ten Executive Committee members, who are also lay members. They are elected by secret ballot of all the members in their Divisional Council area, for three-year terms of office.

Executive Committee Members

Mick Carney, TSSA President, speaking at podium

Mick Carney

President. Mick is a staff rep for Southeastern, working in the ticket office. He is vice chairperson of Southeastern Metro Branch and the Chairperson of the Disability Working Group.

Al Stoten, TSSA Executive Committee member

Al Stoten

Treasurer, Executive Committee. Works for Southeastern ticket office, previously station supervisor & dispatcher, Al has a formidable reputation in getting best results for his members.

Marios Alexandrou, TSSA Executive Committee member

Marios Alexandrou

London Transport EC rep. Marios has worked for London Underground for over 30yrs, has been a Company Council rep. Represents TSSA on Trade Unions for Energy Democracy and Stay Grounded campaigns.

Melissa Heywood, TSSA Executive Committee member

Melissa Heywood

Midlands Executive Committee rep. Melissa works as Route Operations Controller for East Midlands Railway. She is a Health and Safety Rep, Joint Safety Council Rep and a qualified tutor.

Martin Hartley, TSSA Executive Committee member

Martin Hartley

Scotland EC rep. Martin is a Customer Service Assistant Security at Network Rail in Edinburgh Waverley and active TSSA rep since 2004. He is also an area council representative for NR operations.

Paul Beadle, TSSA Executive Committee member

Paul Beadle

London North West Executive Committee rep. Customer Service Team Leader for Avanti West Coast based at Euston. TSSA member since 1992, held a number of roles within Branch and as a rep.

Gemma Southgate, Executive Committee member

Gemma Southgate

Wales and Western EC rep. Gemma is Social Media Manager at Transport for Wales Rail Ltd. Gemma is HQ Clerical Company Council rep, Equality Rep and represented TSSA members at TUC LGBT+ conference.

Nicola Jukes, TSSA Executive Committee member

Nicola Jukes

North East Executive Committee rep. Nicola works for LNER in Wakefield where she is a Neurodiversity Specialist. Nicola is a member of the North East Operations Branch.

Gary Kilroy, TSSA Executive Committee member

Gary Kilroy

North West Executive Committee rep. Gary works in Liverpool as a senior technical officer for Network Rail. He is a local industrial rep, H&S Area rep and Merseyside General Branch Secretary

David Hardman, TSSA Executive Committee member

David Hardman

Anglia and London NE EC rep. David is Senior Research Analyst at the Rail Safety & Standards Board. He is a TSSA health & safety rep and chairs TSSA's National Health & Safety Steering Committee.

Headshot of Paul Corcoran, TSSA EC member

Paul Corcoran

Ireland Executive Committee rep. Paul works as an Inspector Supervisor at Dublin Bus. He is a member of the Ireland East & West General Branch and a Local Staff Rep since 2012.


Elections are currently taking place for the London South Executive Committee member position. Attend your local branch meeting to find out more and to seek nomination to the position.

Find your branch

Executive Committee news

All news